SPS & SGHN Joint Congress 2024

We are proud to present you an interesting 2-day program. Register today and benefit from the Early-Bird 2-day pass!

SPS & SGHN Joint Annual Meeting 2024

14. - 15. November 2024, Aarau

New SPS President 2023

The official term of office of our new President PD Dr. med. Marc R. Suter began on Friday, November 10, 2023.

PD Dr. med. Marc R. Suter is Deputy Physician in the Pain Center of the CHUV (Department of Anesthesiology). He is an anesthesiologist, pain physician and neuroscientist. As head of the Pain research group, he studies the mechanisms leading to intractable chronic neuropathic pain, with a particular focus on peripheral and central neuroinflammation and abnormal neuronal excitability. He also leads or participates in clinical research related to phenotyping and genotyping of patients with chronic pain.

PD Dr. med. Marc Suter

PD Dr. med. Marc Suter
FMH for anesthesiology

CHUV Service d’anesthésiologie
Centre d’antalgie
Rue du Bugnon 46
1011 Lausanne


New SPS Committee 2023

The SPS Committee is now composed as follows:

Current President – Marc Suter
Past President – Konrad Maurer
President Elect – Petra Schweinhardt
Treasurer – Andreas Gantenbein
Actuary – Nicolas Mariotti
Assessor – Chantal Berna Renella
Assessor – Andrea Berendes
Assessor – Ben Brönnimann
Assessor – Maximilien Jung
Assessor – Monika Maag
Assessor – Emanuelle Opsommer

The resorts will be allocated at the Board retreat in January 2024.

Committee 2023-2026

Thank you

We would like to thank PD Dr. med. Konrad Maurer for his investment over the past 6 years and are delighted that he will continue to support us in an advisory capacity as Past President for the next 3 years.

Another a big thank you goes to all committee members from 2020 – 2023. With the help of their voluntary work and time, we have been able to reshape education in the field of pain management and promote adequate coding of pain since the ICD-11 (International Classification of Diseases) recognizes pain as a disease.

Current President – Konrad Maurer
Past President – André Ljutow
President Elect – Marc Suter
Treasurer – Andreas Gantenbein
Actuary – Petra Schweinhardt
Assessor – Beat Steiger
Assessor – Nicolas Mariotti
Assessor – Sven Brockmüller
Assessor – Thomas Benz
Assessor – Fleur Baumann Benvenuti
Assessor – Noëmi Zurron
Assessor – Chantal Berna Renella